Year 9

Our Year 9 programme is based on the eight Learning Areas of the New Zealand Curriculum:

  • English
  • Mathematics and Statistics 
  • Science 
  • Social Science 
  • Physical Education and Health 
  • Arts 
  • Languages (including Te Reo Māori)
  • Technology

English, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Physical Education and Health form the core of the Year 9 programme as full or half-year courses. 

You then have to choose five of the following subjects from Arts and Technology:

Art, Drama, Music, Design & Graphics, Digital Technology, Food Technology, and General Technology. 

These subjects are taught as one-term elective courses.

Te Reo Māori is offered as an optional three-term course that replaces Social Studies, Career Development and Introductory Māori .

English for Speakers of Other Languages is offered as a full-year optional course replacing some of their options.